Knit or Purl?

25 Oct

While there are other knitting stitches, I’ve found myself using the Knit Stitch and the Purl Stitch more than others. You may not be able to tell from the pictures, but I am alternating between the two. First I started off with just the knit stitch since it was the first one I learned. However I found that I had a hard time with the way I had to hold the needle. So, I took that as an opportunity to learn another stitch – hence the purl. The Purl stitch worked great for me, the position of the needles were not as awkward and I moved a lot faster.

Just like the comfort-ability of the needle size, how comfortable you are with a particular stitch all depends on the user.

A short list of knitting stitches (some these are really pretty):

  1. Yarn Over Between a Knit and Purl
  2. The Stockinette Stitch
  3. Lattice or Post stitch
  4. Seed stitch
  5. Block Weave Stitch
  6. Single leaf pattern
  7. Appleseed knitting
  8. Popcorn knitting Stitches
Leave a Reply

